P200: Strategic Procurement

Congratulations FY15-16 Starlight Award Winners!

Starlight Logo

UC Procurement Services is proud to announce the winners of the FY15-16 Starlight Awards. The Program Leadership Council (PLC) established this annual recognition program to spotlight procurement professionals systemwide, for exceptional projects and initiatives that contribute to advancing the University’s core mission. Nominations were accepted for anyone with outstanding accomplishments in the categories of: Innovation, Initiative Leadership, Collaboration and Procurement Rookie of the Year. A total of 23 nominees were submitted. The PLC also selected an MVPP (Most Valuable Procurement Professional) and MVPP Team whose contributions are making a lasting impact on Procurement Services.

The PLC was impressed with the nomination pool and engaged in thoughtful and passionate conversations to ultimately determine the winners.

The nominees in the various categories included:

Rhodora Antigua, UCLA; Laurina Ashby, UCB/UCSF; Laura Blankenship, UCSD; Lori Brierre, UCSD; Mary Chiu, UCSD; Lisa Dodd, UCSC; Bernadette Jimenez, UCB/UCSF; Ty Haubrich, UCLA; Roesia Gerstien, UCB/UCSF; Dianne Holmes, UCB/UCSF; Tanya Krupsky, UCB/UCSF; Amanda Marks, UCLA; Jeremy Meadows, UCSD; Dave Munson, UCB/UCSF; Nik Neu, UCOP; Joanna Santoro, UCB/UCSF; Lia Scott, UCD; Gayle Ta, UCSD; Stacey Templeman, UCB/UCSF; Valerie Vergara, UCOP; Heather Vinograd, UCSD; Data Analytics Group, UCSD; Procurement Policy and Legal Documents Team, various locations

And the winners are…

Roesia GerstienCollaboration- Roesia Gerstien, UCB/UCSF

Roesia has demonstrated exemplary collaborative leadership on behalf of UC Berkeley, UC San Francisco and the UC system. Aligned with and furthering the UC system’s strategic procurement objectives, she has made significant contributions in data standardization, public service, and partnership with other diversity officers.



Innovation- Gayle Ta, UCSDGayle Ta

Gayle’s ability to consolidate functions like budget, data/analysis, marketing/communications, sustainability and client support into a single unit on behalf of the broader IPPS organization has provided significant benefit to UCSD integration efforts. Her work allows UC to present a common face and approach for activities like the annual budget submission, metrics and outreach.


Lia Scott 2

Initiative Leadership- Lia Scott, UCD

Lia has been recognized for being the driving force behind UCD’s conversion from the current eProcurement UCDBuy application to the new AggieBuy platform. As a champion of this conversion since the beginning, her efforts will have a lasting impact on the UCD campus and provide a base point for other campus platforms.




Amanda MarksProcurement Rookie of the Year- Amanda Marks, Oakland (@UCLA)

As a newly hired member of the Professional Services COE, Amanda has already helped advance the UC Procurement Services mission through her leadership in sourcing components of the UC Health Care & Prescription Drug Benefits Program. Working with both the UC Health project team and an outside consultant, she notably coordinated and guided the teams through the strategic sourcing process which led to an impressive negotiated UC benefit of $240MM.

Ty Haubrich








Most Valuable Procurement Professional- Ty Haubrich, UCLA

Ty has been instrumental in negotiating large discounts and driving initiatives such as pouring rights and athletics. He has been recognized for hiring exceptional staff and maintaining operational excellence through mentorship at other campuses in addition to his own. Supplier relationship managers, customer relationship managers and analysts, along with many others, consider him one of UCLA Procurement’s most valuable procurement employees.

Most Valuable Procurement Professional Team- Procurement Policy and Legal Documents Team

This team been instrumental in fundamentally changing the process for standardizing and introducing legal documents and policy changes systemwide. The team’s advocacy, review process and training programs have resulted in increased quality of templates, shortened cycle times for policy changes and reduced potential risk.

PPLD TeamTeam winners include (top left to right): Dianne Yoder, UC Oakland; Laurina Ashby, UCB/UCSF; David Gee, UCR; Andrea Tung, UC Oakland; (middle row left to right): Jason Hall, Oakland (@UCSD); Gae Purvis, UCR; Kathleen Quenneville, UCOP-OGC; Calli Price, UCSB; (bottom row left to right): Rich Taylor, UCB/UCSF; Nikki Vamosi, UCSC; Nik Neu, UC Oakland; Jon Heinlein, UCSD; (not pictured) Andrea Cooke, UCLA